The Half Dozen: 6 Most Interesting Looking Trailers for July 2012

Posted on

Life’s a bitch, ain’t it? As of yet I’ve not won the lottery, so I’m resigned to a life of actually working to pay the bills, rather than getting to sit in a cinema all day, write reviews and generally evangelise about how great cinema is. Consequently, with work demanding rather more from me than usual at the moment, I’m left with two choices: write the blog, or go and see films. As I’d not have much to write about if I didn’t go and see films, I’ve followed the logical option, but I’m now desperately trying to find time to squeeze in blogging.

So this month’s trailer picks will be a masterclass in efficiency, as I attempt to describe each trailer in ten words or less. To be honest, my mind’s only on one thing anyway: next Saturday I’m making my annual pilgrimage to the BFI IMAX in London. Two years ago, I double billed Inception and Toy Story 3 and last year it was Mission: Impossible: Ghost: Protocol: Colon, and this year it will be a follow up to the first film I ever saw in IMAX: The Dark Knight. Next Saturday, Batman will rise and, Nolan obsessive that I am, I’ll be sat in row F, having a giant Nolangasm as discreetly as possible. I’ve rated the last four Christopher Nolan films 10/10, so TDKR has a lot to live up to, but based on early word of mouth, I have every right to be excited. Squee.

Anyway, here’s six upcoming films, five of which could be improved with the addition of Batman. Probably.

Marina Abramović The Artist is Present

Apologies for the nudity, apparently it’s art.

Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World

Her off Community might be the female Steve Buscemi. (Funny looking?)

Detachment

Still never seen American History X. Sorry, Tony Kaye.

Nostalgia For The Light

Is it Batman time yet?

The Dark Knight Rises

As I said earlier, squee.

Searching For Sugar Man

I might see this. I might see Batman again. Batman.

Leave a comment